Following the amazing interest in both the Dunlop Endurance and the Dunlop Production Championships before and during the Autosport Show, we have decided to expand the Britcar ‘family’ a little. We have received a lot of interest from Prototype/CN race cars which we couldn’t really fit into the Dunlop Endurance Championship which is aimed at GT and Production Cars. As a result, and through consulting and listening to our competitors, we would like to announce the all new "Dunlop Prototype Series for 2016".

For 2016, this will be a series consisting of 5 races over 4 events but we will be working with the MSA to get full Championship status for 2017. The Dunlop Prototype Series 2016 will consist of 4 rounds as outlined below. The programme will be increased to at least 6 and possibly as many as 8 rounds in 2017, and will be on the full Britcar Package. The provisional dates for this season are as follows:

1-3rd April: Silverstone GP – 2 x 1 hour races, entry fee £1700 plus VAT (part of the Hankook 24 Hours of Silverstone weekend);
16th July: Donington – 1 hour – £935 plus VAT;
3rd – 4th September: Snetterton – 1 hour, £935 plus VAT
7-9th October: Spa – 2 hour, £1995 plus VAT.

£100 plus VAT for Registration and Membership

All events will include 20 minutes warm up and 30 minutes qualifying. We will have the same full VIP Hospitality as the Dunlop Production and Dunlop Endurance Championships, for 2 people per Car but additional hospitality tickets can be bought prior to the event. There is currently no TV coverage but please watch this space as this may change. The full TV package will
return in 2017 to match the other Championships.

The regulations / classification are still being finalised and the full classes will be released shortly. Here is a list of the some of the types of cars that will be eligible so you can get a flavour of the racing. This is not an exhaustive list so please contact us with your car details if it is not one
of those listed below:

All Prototypes are eligible under MSA Blue Book such as Riley’s, Saker’s, Aquila, Radicals RXC, RXC Spyders, SR3, SR8, Ginetta G57 and Praga R1. Plus there will be a class for CN cars split into Pre 2010 and Post 2010.

License required: Possibly National A for the quickest Class and National B for all the rest, as per the Dunlop Endurance Championship. A National A will be required for the round at Spa.

The format of the races will be similar to the Dunlop Endurance Championship with a mandatory 90 second pit stop and success pit stop penalties. The pit stop allows for 2 drivers to share the Car with no disadvantage over a single driver.

If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us on 01420 257194 or