The battle for the overall Britcar Endurance Trophy Championship will go down to the wire at Donington Park, with just 10 points separating the top three contenders. Topping the table with 293 points is Simon Baker’s Class 1 BMW 1M, and with regular co-driver Kevin Clarke away, super-sub Andy Schulz stands a good chance to maintain the car’s winning streak, while second-placed Richard Higgins, with 285 points in his Class 2 Porsche 996, needs to bag a pair of wins to stay in contention, being just two points ahead of Clio Class leaders Steve and Aaron Thompson. The status of these three is made fragile, though, by the need to drop a score, and by a number of runners not figuring in the title hunt, but with class-winning credentials; the Ginetta G56s of Mark Lee and Axel van Nederveen, the Peugeot 308s of Steve Rothery and Terry Stephens, and James Black in the Colburn-run Clio could all prevent the title protagonists from scoring top class points.

This final round promises to feature regulars, returnees and Invitation entries to form a record grid, and ones to watch could be the Johnny MacGregor / Josh Tomlinson Mazda RX8, the Team BRIT BMW 240 of Andy Tucker and Matty Steeet, the BMW E36 of Jas Sapra / Lucky Khera, and Kester Cook’s Fiesta, while in Class 2 Adriano Medeiros subbing in Peter Spano’s Ginetta G40 is a threat to win, and the Clio of Andy Mollison / Ryan Firth has potential. Whilst no Class 3 runners are in line for the overall title, class honours are at stake, with the Alfa Giulietta of Barry McMahon/Paul Plant, the Ginetta G20 of Steve Griffiths/ Jamie Vinall-Meyer, the Steve and Edward Cook Honda Civic, and the VW Golf of Mark Jones and Robert Taylor all in with a shot. The Clio class, too, will be competitive, the Westbourne Motors team will be fending off Darren Geeraerts, who has upped his game in the Spires Motorsport entry, and the Motus One car of Steve O’Brien and Matt Cherrington.